Texas Governor Abbott signed a bill into law on Monday banning transgender girls from competing in female sports at public schools. Several other states across the country have already signed similar laws. The law is set to go into effect on January 18, 2022.

Those who support the bill say that the purpose is to create fairness in school sports due to the inherent physical advantage that transgender women have when playing on female teams. Equal rights advocates say it is discrimination and hate-driven claiming that transgender women have no advantage despite the fact they were born as a male.

Several other states have passed similar laws this year. A Republican-led national campaign began in Idaho in March 2020 when the state banned any athlete who was assigned a male gender at birth from competing in sports against individuals assigned a female gender at birth. The rule applied to public schools and colleges in the state. A federal court has blocked the Idaho ruling pending the outcome of a legal case against the rule.

Other states who have enacted similar laws include Florida, Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi, Montana, Tennessee, and West Virginia. South Dakota enacted an executive order. So far this year, 35 bills to exclude transgender athletes from competing in female sports have been introduced in 31 states. Some of the rulings are being appealed.

This piece was written by Zach Heilman on October 26, 2021. It originally appeared in RedVoiceMedia.com and is used by permission.

The opinions expressed by contributors and/or content partners are their own and do not necessarily reflect the views of LifeZette.